AuthorTopic: Graphics Gale Question  (Read 3851 times)

Offline DualShell

  • 0001
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile

Graphics Gale Question

on: November 20, 2013, 05:42:24 pm
 ??? I just got graphics gale and i made my first sprite at a size of 96x96 and i would like to know...HOW IN THE WORLD DO I RESIZE IT?
« Last Edit: November 20, 2013, 05:56:49 pm by DualShell »

Offline 64Mega

  • 0001
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile

Re: Graphics Gale Question

Reply #1 on: November 20, 2013, 07:18:44 pm
You can either use All Frames->Enlarge Canvas, Crop or Resample. Resample is the class 'squishy' resize that most paint programs have.
To use Crop, you have to select a region with one of the selection tools first.

Offline DualShell

  • 0001
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile

Re: Graphics Gale Question

Reply #2 on: November 20, 2013, 08:45:15 pm
Kind of stuck in a pit here im still kinda new to gale (2 days new) how exactly do i get to see the crop option it's all grey, and please explain more about re sampling please! Thank you.

Offline 64Mega

  • 0001
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile

Re: Graphics Gale Question

Reply #3 on: November 20, 2013, 09:16:15 pm
Well, with resample, if you open the window it allows you to specify new dimensions for the sprite.
If you, for instance, change it from 96x96 to 32x32, it'll 'squash' the sprite into the new dimensions (And will definitely lose lots of detail and quality).
Making the size higher (Say, 128x128), stretches the sprite out. In some cases, this is salvageable, but will look odd.

To crop, you use the Rectangle tool to select a region. When you have a region selected, you can select the crop tool. This will cut out everything outside the rectangle.

Offline DualShell

  • 0001
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile

Re: Graphics Gale Question

Reply #4 on: November 20, 2013, 09:59:46 pm
So, what would be a sizable dimention to start with for medium size pixel art?

Offline Charlieton

  • 0010
  • *
  • Posts: 167
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • awkward dancer
    • View Profile

Re: Graphics Gale Question

Reply #5 on: November 20, 2013, 10:21:39 pm
Just make a 100x100 or 200x200 px canvas and get to drawing. You don't have to fill up the entire space. Rather, start with a relatively large workspace, and then crop it when you're done with the piece.
Det skulle vara lätt för mig att säga att jag inte gillar dig, men det gör jag; tror jag

Offline PixelPiledriver

  • 0011
  • **
  • Posts: 997
  • Karma: +6/-0
  • Yo!
    • View Profile
    • My Blog

Re: Graphics Gale Question

Reply #6 on: November 21, 2013, 04:38:27 am
Quote
Just make a 100x100 or 200x200 px canvas and get to drawing. You don't have to fill up the entire space. Rather, start with a relatively large workspace, and then crop it when you're done with the piece.
Agreed this works well.
Here's some steps:

Create a New File.
You'll want some extra space to move stuff around and expand if you need to.
I usually just type in the same number 6 times
Alternatively you could use the Preset button.


Then choose a Custom Grid size that you want to draw at.


Use the grid as a restriction or guide.
When you're done chop the image down using Snap.
This will result in a cleanly sized image.


The Grid is also good for moving and cropping pixels within the image.
I have some more info about the grid here.
It's a little sloppy and could use some revisions.  :blind:
And knowing that it is, we seek what it is... ~ Aristotle, Posterior Analytics, Chapter 1