AuthorTopic: GR#135 - Help with Shading a Character - Shading  (Read 4995 times)

Offline zealcore

• View Profile

GR#135 - Help with Shading a Character - Shading

on: September 02, 2013, 06:52:08 pm
Hi, guys. So basically I drew this character and I have it animated (I did the animation by hand on paper and then made a pixel art image). It's a character for a game I've been developing. I don't have any idea how to make it look better and I'm a beginner at shading. This looks like a great community so I thought someone with skill would give me a hand, perhaps?

Offline YellowLime

• View Profile
    • Sour Pixels

Re: Help with shading a character

Reply #1 on: September 02, 2013, 09:52:10 pm
The most important advice I can give you is that this is too big of a size for pixelart. It would be too much work to make it look good!

You could instead create the graphics of your game in another medium, either digital-painting or vector-based (latter might be harder)

If you insist on doing it in pixelart, you should reduce the size (to around 64x64) and duplicate or triplicate the size of the in-game screen.

Offline Decroded

• Oh hai
    • View Profile

Re: Help with shading a character

Reply #2 on: September 03, 2013, 07:25:16 am
The most important advice I can give you is that this is too big of a size for pixelart. It would be too much work to make it look good!

You could instead create the graphics of your game in another medium, either digital-painting or vector-based (latter might be harder)

If you insist on doing it in pixelart, you should reduce the size (to around 64x64) and duplicate or triplicate the size of the in-game screen.
^ Yeah what he said.

Decided to have a crack at a simple robot since I never done it before...

Here's the steps I follow (some stuff done a little out of order):