AuthorTopic: new pixel artist  (Read 8852 times)

Offline snake85027

• View Profile

new pixel artist

on: March 26, 2013, 01:10:20 am
My name is David B and I am a video game artist. I create 3d game art but love pixel art and I am trying to get better at it. Here is something I did today.  Mine is on the Right and the one on the left is from an old snes game called Mr Nuts.
 Any advice would be awesome.

Offline Pix3M

• View Profile

Re: new pixel artist

Reply #1 on: March 26, 2013, 02:57:16 am
The color count of that image is over 16 thousand  :ouch: Knowing how to save your work properly is probably the very first thing to know when you're doing pixel art. You do not want to save your work as a jpg; it does odd stuff to your pixels and creates pixel noise as well. Save it as a PNG.

Other than that, it is generally a bad habit to detail with little pixel dots. Consider the tree that you're referencing... It mostly focuses on areas of color, not so much with trying to texture with pixel dots.

Offline snake85027

• View Profile

Reply #2 on: March 27, 2013, 04:19:33 pm
So what do you recommend..should I be using a bigger brush when I paint?

Offline cirpons

• View Profile

Reply #3 on: March 27, 2013, 04:37:45 pm

At such a scale it would be wise to block out the shape and general lightning with a larger brush and only then clean it up with a 1 px brush.

Offline Facet

• View Profile

Reply #4 on: March 27, 2013, 11:46:21 pm
Dave, hello & welcome! :)

Yeah, definitely. Always big to small, vague to specific; work stuff out sequentially at it's simplest.

This is a huge piece for starters, and actually for pixel art generally; lots of non-pixel specific block-out and tons of boring clean-up and hassle to make progress. I'd suggest that getting lots of smaller, quicker stuff done to build familiarity and confidence would be really helpful.