AuthorTopic: Settlers II replacement graphics  (Read 4295 times)

Offline Merri

• View Profile
    • Merri.net

Settlers II replacement graphics

on: April 10, 2013, 11:22:00 pm
Hello! This seems like a good place to get feedback on these graphics so I thought I'd try my luck for some Command & Conqu... eeeeh... C&C that is.

As this is my first post I guess I'll also introduce myself and this project a bit. As things are I'm not really a pixel artist or an artist at all, but much more of a developer. I've always had quite a broad interest on various things so while I don't see myself as an artist that hasn't prevented me from doing some stuff. I'm not very familiar with many the terms and techniques and I just have an eye for copycatting a style I see. My time for drawing anything is quite limited so I may end up having months between my visits... and what I show here now has actually been done last September so I'm really pushing my memory here!

So this project is a very slow one and mostly the benefit is to give free graphics for the open source Return to the Roots project that now uses original game graphics and thus requires the original game files to function. As a rule I will be using the original game palette and I try to stay somewhat faithful to the style (or feel) of the original graphics. I guess not that many are familiar with the game so you can find buildings here or use Google images to find some screenshots.

As a first step I've started working on Roman military buildings. New Fortress to the right and original to the left: