AuthorTopic: Metal Slug inspired portrait  (Read 7604 times)

Offline adcrusher524

• View Profile

Metal Slug inspired portrait

on: February 06, 2010, 03:48:20 pm

It's not exactly supposed to be metal slug style, I was just playing metal slug when I thought of this.
Please C+C

Offline Tourist

• View Profile

Re: Metal Slug inspired portrait

Reply #1 on: February 06, 2010, 08:53:22 pm
My two cents:
The basic color scheme is good.

The basic pose is good, things are clearly going on in the image.

The anatomy and perspective are poor.

My recommendation (keep in mind I'm no expert) is to practice form and anatomy.   Your colors and choice of poses are ok, so set them aside and focus on the weak spots for a few pieces.  Do some grayscale (or near grayscale) work based on reference photos to train your brain some more.  If it helps, here's a near grayscale palette that I'm using (err, don't use the white background):

Tourist

Offline adcrusher524

• View Profile

Reply #2 on: February 09, 2010, 02:01:38 am
Update:

I started from scratch, but I copied and pasted some parts from the old one.  I hope the anatomy is better.

-Tourist: I have a question, how does using gray scale make the anatomy better? I tried it but It looked terrible so I didn't want to post it.

Offline NaCl

• When it rains it pours
    • View Profile

Reply #3 on: February 09, 2010, 02:18:28 am
Man the face is still squashed to hell. Look at your face flipped horizontally and maybe you will see how wrong it looks.

The new one looks better, I like your design of the shirt and jacket, but fix that face man. Here is the edit I posted at pixeljoint:

Virtually all I did to the face was unsquish it, and a few other little things.

Offline EyeCraft

• What are you scared of?
    • View Profile
    • Death By Dev

Reply #4 on: February 09, 2010, 02:51:03 am
-Tourist: I have a question, how does using gray scale make the anatomy better? I tried it but It looked terrible so I didn't want to post it.