AuthorTopic: Base [WIP]  (Read 3522 times)

Offline Kazuma11

• Where you see risk, I see opportunity.
    • View Profile

Base [WIP]

on: December 12, 2009, 07:40:16 am
Hello folks  :). A friend suggested to try this place out. From what I've seen, theres a lot of talented pixel artists here. Hopefully, I can learn a few things. I've been doing pixel art for a couple of months now, but I'd like to get even better. I was working on a 32x32 Base for a project I'd like to start. It'd be nice if I could get some C&C on it.

Sorry if it doesn't have transparency. If anyone knows a program that can help me, then please, let me know. Anywho, I'd like to finish the side views animations. But that's one of my main problems. I can't do animations for my life. Help would be appriciated.  ;D
Thanks in advance!

-Kazuma.

Offline bengo

• https://pixeljoint.com/p/5787.htm
    • View Profile

Re: Base [WIP]

Reply #1 on: December 12, 2009, 09:49:56 am

Alright bear with me here I know this is an extreme edit but I wanted to show you a few things:
#1 - Contrast in your colors, helps with readability
#2 - Good Silhouette
#3 - Perspective, now you don't have to do this, it just helps give a little more life to the creature and is most useful if you're making sprites for say, an RPG
#4 - Definite light source, helps with readability as well as its just a basic rule of art to follow
Try to treat your person as a sculpture, first you must flesh him out, then you must turn on a light for him. I hope I've helped, good luck on your piece!

Offline Kazuma11

• View Profile

Reply #2 on: December 12, 2009, 03:56:36 pm
The edit is nice, but the shoulders seem a little odd to me. But you're right about the contrast. Also, I went with the buff look for a reason, lols. Thanks for the comment. Keep em coming!

Offline NaCl

• When it rains it pours
    • View Profile

Reply #3 on: December 12, 2009, 09:13:50 pm