AuthorTopic: Platformer Sprite needs improvement  (Read 14561 times)

Offline Twirly

• View Profile

Platformer Sprite needs improvement

on: March 14, 2009, 08:12:36 pm
Hi everybody  :)
I am new to this place and not active at all untill now,because I ended up needing
some help with my sprites :x I am very new to pixel art (I made only a few RPG Sprites)
and ended up needing help with this small platformer sprite: (Really small :O)

So, in my opinion the perspective seems a bit akward and the guy's stance is too rigid,
but I really don't know how to change that :(
Also, you may need to know that this is still a WIP, so shading and changing outlines will follow ;)
PS:
Sorry for any typos or grammatical errors, English isn't my first language.

Offline NaCl

• When it rains it pours
    • View Profile

Re: Platformer Sprite needs improvement

Reply #1 on: March 14, 2009, 09:30:29 pm
Hey Twirly, good start! This character is quite cute. I think you even analyzed the problems with him pretty good too.

Here is how I would improve this sprite, and your sprites in general:

Don't rely on black lines to give shape to everything. Black lines on the inside of the sprite tend to clutter everything up, especially in small sprites like this. I had the same problem initially, but you just have to realize that you are not drawing with a pencil, you are painting with pixels. So you essentially need to define shapes with the colors you are using, not lines. If you look down at my edit, you see that I placed shapes of pixels of different colors next to each other to differentiate different parts of the body. Like I put a blob of dark blue coming out of the mid tone blue of his jacket to show his back arm a little, and it is distinguishable without any lines.