AuthorTopic: Prince of Bel-Air  (Read 3562 times)

Offline crisnmp

• View Profile

Prince of Bel-Air

on: February 06, 2009, 11:18:33 pm
I'm a beginner to pixel art and I spent the last hour working on this. I reached the point where the face is holding me back and I can't find the right way. So basically I need help making the face look right, any tips or examples will be appreciated :lol:

Also I'm looking forward to any C&C on the rest of the head except for the ears which look really bad.

Reference: http://i2.iofferphoto.com/img/item/803/905/26/hdZVuA8ZUljXls5.jpg

WIP:

Offline balls01

• 사랑
    • View Profile
    • Balls Art

Re: Prince of Bel-Air

Reply #1 on: February 07, 2009, 01:39:37 am
hey,
well my thoughts on this are what ive been taught what to do very recently and i am for doing it with every piece, dont use lineart to start off, start with lower values and make your way up. i am for this because it does get the job done quicker.

i've also noticed that your colors are very close together (there isnt much contrast, i think its that one) using more contrast will make problems like clashing colors, so on so on. but, without the right contrast you will turn into a me and people dont like me's.

your dithering, your dithering style is very unorganised, yes it does make it smoother, but work on volumes now, and then work on dithering and smoothing, don't get carried away, set yourself a time frame, say like: in one hour im going to post my progress no matter what stage im at.

so summarising: remove lineart, get more contrast, remover dithering at this point.

your choice of color, is your voice of color
BallsArt

Offline Shrike

• View Profile

Reply #2 on: February 07, 2009, 01:50:29 am
Not quite how I would say it/do it.

I would say draw the WHOLE THING, very roughly, without shading, just some colors, then clean it up, shade/highlight, dither etc. etc.,  or at least that's how I work.