AuthorTopic: A Helping Hand (black n white) [WIP]  (Read 3655 times)

Offline gamingjustin

• View Profile

A Helping Hand (black n white) [WIP]

on: August 06, 2008, 08:47:51 pm

As you can see, I'm having a bit of trouble making it look like the hand is pulling the skin back. Right now, it seems like the skin decided to rip itself open and a hand is just sort of just floating in front of it. Can anyone give me tips on how to make it look like the hand is interacting with the head?

Any tips and/or comments would be greatly appreciated. Thanks, all.

Okay! Here's how far I've gotten. I'm no pro when it comes to dithering so I just stuck with the black-dot-every-other-pixel technique... I finally realized that the eyes are totally whacked out. The bottom half of his head is turned more than the top half of his head. Pretty cool stuff!! :( So, I guess this piece has become more abstract than I anticipated, yippee. Thanks again for the input, all. If you have any extra critiques please feel free to share.
« Last Edit: August 07, 2008, 05:33:18 pm by gamingjustin »

Offline Helm

• View Profile
    • Asides-Bsides

Re: stretching, pulling skin: any pointers?

Reply #1 on: August 06, 2008, 08:56:18 pm
turn the last knuckles of every finger inwards inside the head. Make the hand grip and it will look like you want it to look. Also since you're early in the design I guess it's a good time to tell you the ears are a bit high (perhaps, there's people like this surely) and the nose/mouth is a bit of center. Also, look at photographs of necks/sternums before you do the neck :)

Offline AtlasNyne

• View Profile

Reply #2 on: August 06, 2008, 08:57:39 pm
I think if you change it so you can see some skin in front of the fingers, and maybe some skin folding or molding around the fingers it would help.

Offline gamingjustin

• View Profile

Reply #3 on: August 06, 2008, 09:09:54 pm