AuthorTopic: Running animation  (Read 8748 times)

Offline coffee

• JohanAronson
    • View Profile

Running animation

on: May 07, 2008, 08:45:51 pm
Hi there!

I suppose no one knows who I am.. So maby I should consider myself new here for the moment.
This is not my first pixelart. I have been doing pixelart since 5 years ago actually.
I have done graphics to a couple of games and my art is quite a lot inspired by Kennethfejer's.

It's been some trouble with school so i haven't been able to do my art in about 2 years now..however,
I will try to start up again and I hope you will enjoy my works!

I made a small picture of myselves (my avatar...)
This is my try for a "running animation":

did this "update" later on:

Last update:

Personally I think it looks a bit stiff and it looks like his legs are faster than his arms but i can't figure out what it is? any idea?
You are very welcome to say whatever you feel!
« Last Edit: May 10, 2008, 11:50:23 am by coffee »

Offline Opacus

• Entangled
    • View Profile
    • www.jimjansen.net

Re: Running animation

Reply #1 on: May 07, 2008, 09:05:53 pm
I think the sprite is pretty nice. The Selout is too prominent though. Either lessen it, or get rid of it all together.
The main isue is the walk animation. It doesn't work. At all.
However, lucky for you, our big bad pal Ptoing just made a nice breakdown of a run animation in another recent thread:
http://www.wayofthepixel.net/pixelation/index.php?topic=6233.msg73689#msg73689

Take a look at it.
A walk animation basicly exists out of 4 key frames per side. So 8 in total per cycle.
The contact, the recoil, the passing and the high point.
In Ptoing's picture the 'extreme's' are basicly the high points in the animations. The kind of highest, furthest stretched point in the walk cycle.

The contact comes directly after the high point, and the passing directly before the high point.
With inbetween, the recoil.