AuthorTopic: A beginners sprites  (Read 4827 times)

Offline Psych Out

• View Profile

A beginners sprites

on: September 01, 2007, 12:28:38 pm
Sup  :D
Well, I'm new here (if you haven't noticed), and I would really like some of you guys to rate my art (You guys are AWESOME!).

I pixel mainly weapons for games, in particular one called "Tibia". It's a 32x32 template, with a purple background (Which is a bit.. distracting) which turns out to be a grey tile ingame.

So anyway, I would like it if someone would just check some of this out:

(From left to right - Arrow, Sinful Wand, Elven Amulet, Steel Shield, Short Sword)
Kinda go easy on me, I'm just a beginner  :-[.

OH, and I made a little pixelart video thingy, that I uploaded on Youtube. You can check that out here.

Offline BG

• View Profile

Re: A beginners sprites

Reply #1 on: September 01, 2007, 02:49:34 pm
Welcome.

First of all, I must say your work looks nice. When I first saw these, i thought they looked really pretty, but the amount of color could be reduced. So I though I would edit them a little.

This is where your work made me want to punch babies (Sorry, no offence at all, just a saying). The color amount of the sword was 133!! (including the purple background) That's not ok. Not to mention the shield with its 390 colors! :yell: This is WAY too much for pieces this small.

I did a quick 5-min edit of the sword. Color amount: 12

Compare it to your version. Does your edit look THAT much better than mine? I don't think so. You shouldn't need more than a total of 16 colors to make your stuff look as good as it does now. Make it look as good as possible with as few colors as possible.  THAT'S what pixeling is all about.

But don't feel bad. You're a beginner, and so am I to be honest. You just missed the last part of the rule ;) Please reduce the coloramount and post the new versions, cuz I'd love to see more of your stuff :)
« Last Edit: September 01, 2007, 02:53:11 pm by BG »

Offline ndchristie