AuthorTopic: Suggestions please  (Read 5909 times)

Offline JimKurth

• View Profile

Suggestions please

on: August 11, 2007, 04:00:36 am
I'm new at pixel art and have only briefly gotten into drawing pixels rather than turning vectors and layers into smaller sprite bitmaps and letting the computer do things for me.  Pixel art is tedious I must say and my hat goes off to everyone who does this.  Anyway, I made a blob-like creature and didn't have a clue how to shade it or how to improve on what I have so far.  Previously, I took off the black border around the blob creature but I think it looks better with it.  However, my backgrounds for it to be placed on make it look like clip-art.  Any ideas or suggestions I could do to make this creature more realistic with the background and have more depth?  Thanks.  ;D  I've blown up the picture 2x for visibility.

Offline Dusty

• View Profile

Re: Suggestions please

Reply #1 on: August 11, 2007, 04:21:41 am
The shading is actually pretty good for starters. You defined shapes within the shape, giving it a very good 'blob' feel. The problem is, though, that you've given it no specific lightsource. The middle is lit, but that's the only part it seems the light is hitting from. I mean... it is a lightsource, but not a very productive one. So what you have now seems almost pillow-shaded, where you shade it from the outline in.