AuthorTopic: How to produce shadows  (Read 4216 times)

Offline torch

• View Profile

How to produce shadows

on: July 06, 2007, 09:13:33 am
Hi all, long time gawper, short time poster.  I really like what people produce on this site and I was hoping for some advice on some top down tiles I am producing for a game I am writing. 

I have many years experience in coding, but hardly any experience in pixel art.  It wasn't until I read the rules that I realised that 90% of the pixel art I have been drawing is all using smudges and soften brushes which is a big no-no for this site.  I use them because as a pixel newbie, it meant I can bang out placeholder graphics at a fair pace and spend more time working on the game mechanics.  I figure once the game is being tested I can think about the graphics again. 

The image below is a floor tile, (looking straight down, I am not up to writing an isometric engine just yet).  I have put the black borders in just for clarity.  The first tile is how it looks in the light.  The second tile is what it currently looks like by the corner of a wall, where the shadow of the wall has cut through the tile.  The last tile is how it should really look, and has a much better feel.  I did that by subtracting 50 from the rgb values of the colors.  Now I look at it, 50 doesn't seem to be enough. 

Initially, I wanted to take my art that had been soft brushed, find an application, select tools and SHAZAM from the menu and the tile was darker all over, cut out the diagonal half required for the shadow and paste it over the lighter original. 

Maybe you can do this, but it's not in keeping with what this site is about and I owe it to myself to try and learn something rather than go for the quick fix. 

Thank you in advance for your time.  I hope you can give me some pointers. 

Offline Sherman Gill

• View Profile

Re: How to produce shadows

Reply #1 on: July 06, 2007, 10:09:29 am
Hmm hmm hmm.