AuthorTopic: [WIP - first thing] SHMUP: player ship  (Read 4215 times)

Offline gsoto

• View Profile

[WIP - first thing] SHMUP: player ship

on: February 26, 2007, 04:51:02 pm
Hi.
First of all, I apologize for my English.
I'm a graphic designer/programmer who enjoys lurking this forum from quite a while. Never been into pixeling, but since a friend is programming a space shooter I decided to help him with some graphics and give it a try.

Ok, after three days of trial and error :-[, here is the result:

I quite like it, but there's probably room for many improvements, so any comment is appreciated.
Somehow I ended with a strange style; I wonder if it's suitable for this type of game or it could give me some troubles once I start adding the rest of the graphics.

Offline mangust

• View Profile

Re: [WIP - first thing] SHMUP: player ship

Reply #1 on: February 26, 2007, 05:18:20 pm
Funny work and style!  ;)
But maybe more aggressive in forms? like this... (in right)

Offline Jake

• View Profile

Reply #2 on: February 26, 2007, 07:17:50 pm
i did an edit:

space ships tend to be compact and long, so i pulled in the guns, rockets and wings. i turned the cockpit into a half-dome, but thats just a style so you can keep it or leave it. i thought the rockets looked a bit funny just sitting out on the wings so i attached them to the main body. since your ship is yellow, i gave it blue rockets ;D

Offline mice

• View Profile

Reply #3 on: February 26, 2007, 08:10:45 pm
If you ment for it to be quite cute, then the style is perfect.
The light source coming from the upper right works as well. Although it's something I seldom see.

Really nice!

Offline Rox

• View Profile

Reply #4 on: February 26, 2007, 08:13:24 pm