AuthorTopic: First Pixel Art: Eye (WIP)  (Read 8143 times)

Offline khorin

• I ruled the forces that fueled your hate.
    • View Profile
    • Shizucor

First Pixel Art: Eye (WIP)

on: February 06, 2007, 08:11:44 pm
I'm quite new to all forms of pixel art so I thought I'd post what I've been working on just to get more insight from people who have been doing it longer than I have. Nothing great...just an eye.  :crazy:

Here's what I have so far:

Here's the reference picture I drew myself from a photo: http://shizucor.com/images/eye.gif Note: I actually went back to the original just for the shading.

I'm using 5 colors right now and I've been playing around with dithering and aa so I'd like to know if I'm applying those correctly. I chose this picture just so I could practice with shading. I will begin working on line art as soon as I'm done with this.

Thanks!

« Last Edit: February 13, 2007, 05:22:39 pm by khorin »

Offline Sherman Gill

• View Profile

Re: Eye (WIP)

Reply #1 on: February 06, 2007, 08:21:38 pm
Mm... Good color choices and usage.
I think the eyelashes should be more defined, right now it looks more like face paint. But it does look nice as it is.
AA wise, you got it kinda wrong. One point AA should be the direct middle of the two colors, whereas you're just using one shade darker.
Oh yes naked women are beautiful
But I like shrimps more haha ;)

Offline AdamAtomic

• natural born medic
    • View Profile
    • Adam Atomic

Reply #2 on: February 06, 2007, 08:35:13 pm
I think the eyelashes should be more defined, right now it looks more like face paint. But it does look nice as it is.
AA wise, you got it kinda wrong. One point AA should be the direct middle of the two colors, whereas you're just using one shade darker.

I gotta disagree with all of these points actually:

1 - The color choice is definitely dull - your values are decent, but the colors could be a LOT more interesting!