AuthorTopic: New C64 picture, whee  (Read 11504 times)

Offline Sdw

• View Profile
    • SDW Developments

Re: New C64 picture, whee

Reply #20 on: December 21, 2006, 10:37:49 am
Well, as an oldtime C64 coder my main crit would be that you really are not pushing the AFLI mode much. That is, the fact that you can have 2 new colors per 8x1 block is not utilized very much, atleast from a quick glance.

Offline ptoing

• variegated quadrangle arranger
    • the_ptoing
    • http://pixeljoint.com/p/2191.htm
    • View Profile
    • Perpetually inactive website

Reply #21 on: December 21, 2006, 11:16:06 am
Checkworth: You win!

Rydin: I kinda see what you mean, but I wont change it now, it's on CSDB already and staying to be unaltered.

hawken: As far as visual understanding and communication goes the C64 artists of old can be ignored mostly, as they had none, which is due to the fact that most of them were young and not trained artists. Negative space can be nice and I in no way feel that cluttering it up with stuff you said would help it.

Sdw: I am a strong enemy of doing stuff JUST because you can. I could have used the 2 colours per 8x1 more, but it was my first try at AFLI and I focused more on the more than 2 colours per 8x8 aspect. The "JUST because you can" lead to horrible stuff like rainbow-fairy-dust FLI pictures like I like to call them, every colour needs to be there, at best in every character, JUST because you can, tons of different fonts, all blinking in different colours and stuff, JUST because you can (and it looks shit). I know why people did it (and some still do), because it was novel and new at the time. But I grew up outside the world of the C64 demoscene when it comes to art, so I do not feel the need to do the same things they did. You will for sure see more AFLI stuff from me that is cleverer in the future, this one is but a mere test.
There are no ugly colours, only ugly combinations of colours.

Offline Sdw

• View Profile