AuthorTopic: [WIP] City Tileset  (Read 5042 times)

Offline Lene

• View Profile

[WIP] City Tileset

on: December 18, 2006, 04:32:20 pm
UPDATES

So, not using filters just pixelling, what I have now:

OLD STUFF

Hopefully I can get some help on improving this...

Here's a test scene using (most of) the tileset. Horrible lighting I know.
http://img98.imageshack.us/img98/4430/morascreenshottown02zg6.png

I'm new to pixel art and I've never been trained formally in art so I'm sure there are a boatload of errors that need fixing. I cheated a lot with the roof (among other things), used the noise filter in Photoshop, but I think it looks ridiculous. However, I'm not sure how to go about shading a roof without it looking flat and ugly. Textures are beyond me.

Also the bridge w/ the herringbone (I think that is the name of it) tiles does not tile horizontally, only vertically. I'm not exactly how I managed to do that, but it's extremely problematic. It doesn't help that I don't really know the base of the actual pattern so I can't figure out where I went wrong.

Also, I didn't sprite the ground tile (brown stuff). Someone I'm working with tacked it on there.
« Last Edit: December 19, 2006, 04:23:54 pm by Lene »

Offline Joseph

• Shut up and pixel.
    • View Profile

Re: [WIP] City Tileset

Reply #1 on: December 18, 2006, 05:17:44 pm
sorry but this isnt pixel work.  its obviously photoshop (or something similar) with most textures.  only pixel work is allowed.

Offline Lene

• View Profile

Reply #2 on: December 18, 2006, 05:50:39 pm
Um, I did mention that I used the noise filter, and I also mentioned that I wanted to move away from using the noise filter in photoshop but I don't know how to do it and have it look somewhat decent. Like I said:

However, I'm not sure how to go about shading a roof without it looking flat and ugly. Textures are beyond me.

Replace roof with other things.