AuthorTopic: [CC] + Tileset idea request for simplistic Space Taxi clone  (Read 1587 times)

MadByteDE

Hello everyone,

I'd like to get some feedback and inspriation for a game project I'm working on.
I'm a hobby game dev, mainly focused on programming tasks, but I usually try to draw some simple pixel art for my games myself.
I'm aiming for an futuristic / cartoon like style for the game, but I'm unsure how the tileset could look like.

Some more information about the classic game.
Base tile size is 16x16px.

Questions:
  • What do you think about the existing art in general? UI, sprites, animations ... (Tiles are placeholders)
  • What do you think should the tileset look like? Any specific style ideas, themes, patterns, lighting tips?  (Maybe you have some example art / screenshots)

Main Game Screen mock-up

First UI ideas for the in-game editor

Bird animation

Passenger waving

Passenger walking

If you're interested in helping me out with the art for the project,
feel free to contact me.

Thanks in advance!

Offline Indigo

• Administrator
  • Artist, Indie Game Dev
    • DanFessler
    • DanFessler
    • http://pixeljoint.com/p/849.htm
    • DanFessler
    • DanFessler
    • View Profile
    • Portfolio

Re: [CC] + Tileset idea request for simplistic Space Taxi clone

Reply #1 on: September 08, 2018, 08:43:37 pm
Hey MadByteDE!

Man this was one of my favorite games! Well kinda. I played a mac clone of it called space cab:

I think you're heading in a great direction so far.  Just a couple notes:
- I think you can get more creative with your taxi design.  it reads a lot like a normal car.
- I think it'd be cooler to embed the platforms into the environment design of each level rather than have a standard platform.  Just keeps things feeling more fresh and immersive