AuthorTopic: background sizes and time to finish  (Read 4007 times)

Offline megaoy

• View Profile

background sizes and time to finish

on: April 09, 2018, 02:07:15 pm
hey guys i'm new to pixel art so wanna know what sizes for backgrounds(single image), what is small, a medium and big background, and if possible tell the estimate time to complete them
« Last Edit: April 11, 2018, 02:19:20 pm by megaoy »

Offline nvision

• View Profile
    • Nvision Illustration

Re: background sizes and time to finish

Reply #1 on: April 11, 2018, 01:09:11 pm
This is extremely subjective and really depends on what platform you're targeting and whether you're creating splash images for backgrounds (a single bespoke image) or a tiled background (made up of many smaller, reusable pieces). Size will largely be determined by your screen resolution, and time by your level of expertise.  If you have more specifics it would be easier to help with a general estimate.

Offline megaoy

• View Profile

Reply #2 on: April 11, 2018, 02:18:38 pm
i would say i single image, i remember i saw a guy saying 256x256 pixels was size of small background

Offline Retronator

• Matej 'Retro' Jan
    • retronator
    • http://pixeljoint.com/p/24236.htm
    • retronator
    • retronator
    • retronator
    • View Profile
    • Retronator

Reply #3 on: April 12, 2018, 08:33:47 am
I'd say single-screen sizes of old computers would be considered small-medium. GBC at 160×144 would be a good example of something small. Medium size for me would be GBA at 240×160, and 80s/90s desktops. ZX Spectrum 256×192 up to DOS/Amiga 320×240. Anything much bigger than that, so backgrounds that span multiple screens, and I'd say it's large.

Time estimates really depend. Let me give you some examples for myself (I feel I work quite slow).

You could do a chicken-scratch painting or concept art in 2h (a style that's often not technically pixelart anymore). 300×160: