AuthorTopic: Star Ocean Blue Sphere analysis.  (Read 6893 times)

Offline Conzeit

• Camus
    • conzeit
    • View Profile
    • CONZEIT

Star Ocean Blue Sphere analysis.

on: November 28, 2006, 10:09:34 pm
Once upon the time we had a Challenge thread about making a GBC rpg tileset and a rpg character battle scene, then out of the blue (PUN!!!11!1) someone reccomended STAR OCEAN BLUE for a GBC game with great examples of both.

http://www.rpgfan.com/pics/so-bs/index2.html

Such impressive screenshots were posted that I downloaded it for analyzing it almost right away, and indeed it has not only very impressive but very varied tiling, and the animations are amazingly charming and of low frame count.

For example the fact that all the tree-scape of this forest is done.....
Only with these tiles...............(I'm not that good with tiles so that might be a DUUUUUUUUH for many tilers around :p)
This is the full tileset...it gets switched betweem...4 palletes to make for the full spectrum of the area, they use multiple palletes in one screen to make details of alternate colors (stupid gray sign takes a whole pallete)in some tiles you can even tell from incorrectly colored squared blotches.

EDIT:WHOA! these RPGFAN guys now have animated screenshots!

(timing is SO MUCH better in game) I love the inscriptions on the temple floor
I dont even know what these panoramic views are, note how the first is planometric

despite how cool all that is, I think to truly understand it you need to play each area, so you can use VBA9's TILE VIEWER and MAP VIEWER to dissect every tileset.Not that I'd mind if people all of a sudden started contributing their own map and sprite rips  ;) :D so I posted hoping SOMEONE may have some advanced savestates.