AuthorTopic: [Feedback] OMG I AM DOING IT! I AM ARTING!  (Read 2034 times)

Offline Trixer

• View Profile

[Feedback] OMG I AM DOING IT! I AM ARTING!

on: March 31, 2018, 07:17:10 pm
Hello Bro and Broettes!

So I have been practicing pixel art for about a week now. I am a professional programmer and have been struggling for a lot of my life to make a video game because of lack of art support, before a week ago I was that guy who would tell you I couldn't draw a stick figure to save my life and that I had no artist talent and ability!

Well, last Monday I decided enough is enough and I am gonna learn to art. I settled on pixel art because the grid like canvas I feel like clicks with me well, and no doubt one can make some really shockingly good stuff with pixel art. I have found I absolutely love it! I have been practicing pretty steady all weak and have finally created my first character that I didn't copy, recolor, or reinvent.  As this character came together I got a feel that I have never had in my life, like an "omg, its working.. its really working!" kinda feeling!

I would like to get into everything I learned from pixel scaling, and render sizes but this thread would be way to long. Most important things I learned from an art standpoint was understanding color how to select them and use them. The other most important thing I learned was the discipline it takes to "work a piece".

Often times I would watch my talented friends just draw something in-front of me. I didn't understand they did it so smoothly because they have been practicing drawing that or something like that for a long time. If I asked them to draw something they have not drawn or a new concept to them, they would have to work the piece in a fit of frustration just like myself! I never understood that until this week.  I think all none artists should know that.

Intended to be viewed at 2x and 3x.