AuthorTopic: Need Advice please  (Read 4243 times)

Offline Runensucher

• View Profile

Re: Need Advice please

Reply #10 on: November 09, 2016, 08:48:37 am
Oh, I really like this stuff. It's fun to read about the thoughts you had while designing this. I bet this is going to be very cool.. :)
I'm not a fan of horror games or films. But as an amateur, I think your designs come out very unique. Keep up your high effort, it's worth it.

There is something about your sprites that is wrong. It's called pillow shading, and it is in every single picture. As you didn't make this failure in your other topic with this hatred guy (http://pixelation.org/index.php?topic=21530.msg180349#new), I think this was just inexperience, wasn't it? ;)
Pillow shading is something you have to avoid. It makes your sprites look flat. The prison guy is strongly influenced by it. The light source for the ball on the chain seems to be in the upper left, but thats where the shoulder has its darkest part.

I marked the pillow shading on the other pictures. Thanks to the colours, it is well hidden. But it is there.

Start with the soul eater. It already has it's own light source on its back. Why not use this? I bet this will look awesome.

Offline Fieldren

• -Grotesque-
    • View Profile

Reply #11 on: November 09, 2016, 01:19:13 pm
Dude, thanks!

That was a major thing that i wasn't aware of...First i wasn't able to make the light/shade work, but as you say, that is clearly a pattern that i have frequently. I really appreciate your clarification about this, it's something very hard for me overall cause i'm new with the pixel art and thinking about the fact that i want to make characters that comes up from negative feelings, and concepts i always try to use dark colors or limit myself to give shadow more protagonism than light, thinking about making things darker, not brighter.