AuthorTopic: First Attempt at Pixel Art  (Read 1646 times)

Offline Smoughvel_The_Fat

• View Profile

First Attempt at Pixel Art

on: September 26, 2016, 07:11:25 pm
Hello! As somebody who only picked up pixel art a few days ago, I decided to join a public forum in hopes of criticism of my work, and gradual increase of the quality of my products!

Anyways, In my first attempts at creating a pixel art animation I decided to use a simple silhouette who is crying and occasionally looking towards the viewer.

Tear it apart, I know it's terrible (Since it's my first attempt at anything serious), but keep in mind I am a beginner. I have no background in art, nor have I attempted anything of this type in the past.

Sprite Sheet:

Animation:
« Last Edit: September 26, 2016, 07:21:04 pm by Smoughvel_The_Fat »

Offline eishiya

• http://pixeljoint.com/p/28889.htm
    • View Profile
    • Website

Re: First Attempt at Pixel Art

Reply #1 on: September 26, 2016, 08:49:48 pm
The grey shading(?) on the face is barely visible, even when zoomed in. Use a darker colour. With how light it is, you may as well not have any at all. I don't think that leaving shading out on a face that small is a problem at all.
Similarly, the shading and highlighting on the tears doesn't make much of a difference, though it's more noticeable at higher zooms than the face shading is.

The highlights on the cloak could be made brighter. It also doesn't make sense to have highlights both and below. Try to think of a specific light source when you draw, and draw your highlights and shadows according to that light source. Sure, often you'll want multiple light sources, but it's much easier to start with one, and it often looks more natural to have your main lights and shadows obey a single light source.