AuthorTopic: [C+C] Character bases for an RPG  (Read 2088 times)

Offline Ninety

• NinetyHere
    • View Profile

[C+C] Character bases for an RPG

on: August 08, 2016, 12:59:17 pm
Hello. First post here, sorry if I've made any errors (also I apologise in advance for the large number of images). I've gotten a lot of useful advice lurking here, so I'm hoping the community will be able to give me some advice. Tear into me, please!

I'm working on the art for a farming RPG inspired by Harvest Moon. Naturally this means a large cast of NPCs, but having not really worked much on characters before, I've been making simple bases to practice animation before I sprite the final versions.

I'm not too worried about character design right now, as I said these are more bases than anything else, but animation is not my strong suit and this is my first time attempting an animation project of this size, so I would really appreciate feedback. Specifically, I'd like suggestions on how to improve the limb movement (which feels awkward to me) and the overall "fluidity"/cohesion of the animation.

For reference, I'm going for a more realistically proportioned look than most RPGs, something maybe along the lines of Secret of Mana or Friends of Mineral Town.

Standing versions:

Walking:

Any critique appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Offline Curly

• View Profile

Re: [C+C] Character bases for an RPG

Reply #1 on: August 08, 2016, 02:04:03 pm
The female body looks too similar to the male imo.

Offline Tori

• Hi! I'm Tori!
    • Eduuuh13
    • http://pixeljoint.com/p/107950.htm
    • eduAoliveira7
    • View Profile

Reply #2 on: August 08, 2016, 04:48:02 pm
The female body looks too similar to the male imo.

I agree.

Try to make it more girlish, girls tend to walk with legs closers, and she is to walking too virile, like the man: