AuthorTopic: WIP, need help, stuck, first time doing Pixel art.  (Read 1736 times)

Offline FrogFood

• View Profile
This is my first time doing pixel art and wanted to make a spikeman or something of the sort. I decided to start by doing it without much detail and add the details when the character was formed so that is why the character has simple colors and all.

The thing now is that my lack of talent in drawing seems to be causing trouble now. I am stuck in more than one places. First are the boots. I simply cannot draw the boots, i am unable to, they look bad and i have absolutely no clue how to make them look good. Then there is the helm. Like the boots, it does not look good, in fact it looks more like hair than a helm. So what i need is someone to tell me what to do, mainly on those two parts, but also in general if there is anything to fix or change. I would also like some advice for the details, the face and other things like that. I work better with examples and visuals but any help is fine

Thanks

Offline MysteryMeat

• "The new alternative to q-tipping your cat!"
    • mysterymeat
    • spoiledmysterymeat
    • View Profile
    • My rad art blog!

Re: WIP, need help, stuck, first time doing Pixel art.

Reply #1 on: June 12, 2016, 09:19:31 am
dont use black lines for small details, first off. the divisions in the head plate would be better emphasized by a darker shade of red or a brown.

as for the boots, work from a reference! there's no shortage of samurai armor pics online thanks to the early-aughts surge in weeaboo culture, take advantage of the fruits born from many a miss-spent youth!
PSA: use imgur
http://pixelation.org/index.php?topic=19838.0 also go suggest on my quest, cmon
MAJOR BORK TALLY: |

Offline FrogFood

• View Profile

Reply #2 on: June 12, 2016, 06:44:37 pm
Update.