AuthorTopic: Stuck at shading/light - new at pixel art  (Read 1454 times)

Offline ozak

• View Profile

Stuck at shading/light - new at pixel art

on: June 03, 2016, 08:23:04 pm
Hi. I’m a long time game programmer and I thought I would teach myself pixel art (I know basic image editing, effects etc) and I get the part where you draw splotches as parts of the character and then flesh out the details.

However I tried using lighter colours at the edge of the character for shading/light, but it looked sub-optimal to say the least ;)

So I guess me my problem is I’m totally stuck as to how to go about the shading/details. I tried Google, but I’m still no able to do it. So any tips (also about the general artwork) would be much appreciated ;)

Thanks in advance

(This is just the basic character)

Offline SmashAdams

• View Profile

Re: Stuck at shading/light - new at pixel art

Reply #1 on: June 04, 2016, 07:50:46 pm
Hi there, and welcome to Pixelation.
I just started pixel art a week or two ago, so I am no authority on how to create great pixel art.
But I drew your guy in my own style (60-ish px by 20-ish px), and in showing my process, perhaps you may gain something of use.

so step 1 (left -> right) was just getting the form down to a point where I was okay with how it looked, and adding the base colours to the different parts of the body. When looking at your character, I noticed the colours you chose (especially the hair) were way too saturated. notice the yellows I used for the hair are more toned back.. it hurts the eyes less.