AuthorTopic: [Unpaid/RevShare] (video inside) 2D Platformer developer looking for artist  (Read 2439 times)

Offline Nikles

• niklesgames
    • niccolofavari
    • View Profile
    • Nikles.it
Hi everyone. I'm Nikles (and I'm new to this forum). I'm a 30-ish dude from Italy (thought it would be nice to know).

I'm also developing a 2D Platformer (name of the project is "Kren").

*not quite a "video inside" but there's a youtube link at the end of this post.

Everything you see here, except the block tilesets (from OpenGameArt.org), was made by me.
And it shows. Because I'm no artist.
I'm mainly a developer (there's no one else working on this project, so there's no "team").

The devlog of this game is at nikles.it
Right now I'm developing the game engine.
Testing the mechanics.

I'm looking for an artist, at this stage of development, because I need to visualize how the game feels.

This won't be an action packed game.
In fact, when I think about it, I think about words like
  • solitude
  • isolation
  • mysterious
  • unearthly
  • uncanny
  • dark
  • ghostly
  • unnatural
  • evil
  • Super Metroid

The primary objective should be to prototype the game with graphics.
I still don't know if this is going to be a commercial project or not.
Should it become a viable commercial game there could be many options. Here are just some of them
  • Prototype's used to get funding. Then...
    • The artist remains the same, becoming the final game artist. Gets what is due to him/her, plus revenues shares.
    • The artist changes; prototype art won't be used; he/she will get no revenues shares but will get what is due to him/her.
  • Prototype is ready to market; no more funding necessary. Artist remains the same so revenue shares apply.
  • Project gets cancelled. No one gets anything (this should not happen! at all costs!) Artist is free to use his/her art however he/she sees fit.