AuthorTopic: Gritty pixel art  (Read 2364 times)

Offline Glitchcraft

• View Profile

Gritty pixel art

on: May 07, 2016, 01:52:24 am
Hi dudes,

This is my first post. I've been doing art for a few years but just recently got into seriously doing pixel art. I've never really been concerned with execution and, over the years, I've done my best to turn my sloppiness into "tasteful sloppiness" -- that is -- to embrace and refine the rawness and sketchiness of my natural tendency to draw like a schizophrenic kid on Ritalin. I've just always been an idea guy: more concerned with the core design and concept. Typical INTP personality type I guess.

As I've said, I want to get serious about pixel art and master the fundamentals to the best of my ability. But, I don't want to just do generic pixel art. There's nothing wrong with paying homage to the classic style or enjoying more typical pixel art, but I want to capture my pencil on paper style in pixels. The problem is, I don't know how to do that without it being too messy and noisy. How do you make gritty, chaotic pixel art simultaneously clean and appealing? My guess is that it'd probably work better at a large sprite size, but for the game I'm (trying to) work on, I'm doing 32x32 tiles and a 54xsomething character sprite.

Please keep in mind that this isn't the final work and I honestly might even scrap it. I just wanted to show what I meant by "gritty" since the term could mean a lot of different things in art. If anyone can offer some tips or be like "hey! That looks like the art from so and so game, only way shittier!" that'd be great. Particularly sketchy references would be awesome.

http://

Offline MysteryMeat

• "The new alternative to q-tipping your cat!"
    • mysterymeat
    • spoiledmysterymeat
    • View Profile
    • My rad art blog!

Re: Gritty pixel art

Reply #1 on: May 07, 2016, 03:42:16 am