AuthorTopic: New Guy trying to make a sprite sheet  (Read 4169 times)

Offline JonnyHinkleArt

• View Profile

New Guy trying to make a sprite sheet

on: January 24, 2016, 03:38:33 pm
Hello,

I am pretty new to sprite sheets, and I am trying to make some sprite sheets for a beatemup style game similar to streets of rage or x-men children of the atom.

I was wondering if I could get some help?

Offline JonnyHinkleArt

• View Profile

Re: New Guy trying to make a sprite sheet

Reply #1 on: January 24, 2016, 03:44:14 pm

Offline Gil

• Too square to be hip
    • http://pixeljoint.com/p/475.htm
    • View Profile
    • My Portfolio

Reply #2 on: January 24, 2016, 06:56:46 pm
This is not really pixel art, so should probably be moved to low res. Leaving that alone, I have an issue with all the blurring going on I think, I feel everything needs to be crisper. The individual drawings are quite good, but I feel that animated they don't work for two reasons:

1) Framerate is too low for something this big, it's just too choppy
2) There's no sense of squash/stretch (classic animation term), everything shrinks/grows without much reason to it. You should try to imagine how forms deform over time and try to get a sense of movement going. The simpler sidekick ball does a nice squash/stretch over time, so I'm sure you're familiar with the technique.

Offline JonnyHinkleArt

• View Profile

Reply #3 on: January 24, 2016, 07:44:31 pm
Why would you say this isn't considered pixel art?

Offline Gil

• Too square to be hip
    • View Profile
    • My Portfolio

Reply #4 on: January 24, 2016, 08:15:08 pm