AuthorTopic: [C+C] Album Cover  (Read 7503 times)

Offline Arcade Hero

• >:D
    • arcadehero
    • http://pixeljoint.com/p/46978.htm
    • View Profile
    • c:

[C+C] Album Cover

on: September 23, 2015, 04:25:53 pm
Hello Pixelation community :)
I'm newbie here. So I'm here to improve my pixel-art skill.
Recently I've started making a pic for client's album cover... And now I'm stuck. I dunno how to improve it and make much better.
I'd like to get a critique and some help. Thank you!
Here is my pic+latest update:

Final version:

Thanks everyone for your help :3
« Last Edit: November 22, 2015, 10:44:18 pm by Arcade Hero »

Offline Joe

• View Profile

Re: [C+C] Album Cover

Reply #1 on: September 24, 2015, 08:56:42 am
Hey Arcade Hero, welcome to Pixelation.
Just wanted to say I think the colors you've chosen and the scene you set up is a great start.
Other than minor banding your pixel tech is on point.
It really depends on where you want to take a piece like this, but here's what I would say:

The moon edge could use more AA.
The dither on the cattails is working well to blur them out of focus. I would ditch the outlines as that negates the effect, and you could use that dark blue as a buffer tone to blur the dark leaves there as well.
They're sharing a moment it seems? But the feeling isn't strong enough. If you don't want them making eye contact, improve the body language. Peoples' bodies tend to face the person they like, and lean in as the interest grows.
Maybe one heart, or the hearts over their heads. Also proximity would help the feeling, move the girl 3px left.
The moon would probably be reflecting off the water at that angle, but I agree with your choice to leave that out and would even say ditch those single pixel highlights to bring more attention to the fire.