AuthorTopic: [WIP] [C+C] My First Largish Character Sprite  (Read 12987 times)

Offline Linaru

• I eat pixels
    • View Profile

[WIP] [C+C] My First Largish Character Sprite

on: September 13, 2015, 12:57:37 pm
I have never been particularly good at characters and sprites so i decided to have a play around for practise.
i have done tones of texture work and tile sets before but most of my character sprites have been for a very small scale.

this is my first attempt at a larger more proportionate sprite, i am happy with hour the legs came out but i am struggling with the hair and face.
my experience with faces in the past has mostly been two black dots.
« Last Edit: September 13, 2015, 03:32:21 pm by Linaru »
Linaru Greyfall

Offline lachrymose

• View Profile

Re: [WIP] [C+C] Largish Character sprite

Reply #1 on: September 13, 2015, 01:24:43 pm
I'm going to refer you back to this post http://wayofthepixel.net/index.php?topic=18457.msg163308#msg163308 which should help a lot.

If you aren't using a pose reference find one. Google search for "Dynamic Poses" or pic a pose from a favorite artist of yours.

Pay special attention to proportion. Your legs are super long, so are your upper arms, the neck is non-existent.

I'd recommend starting from scratch, post a wireframe or silhouette showing the basic form of the character without clothes or hair so we can critique/tweak that, afterwards we can slowly build up the forms until we have a rockin character.

Offline Linaru

• I eat pixels
    • View Profile

Re: [WIP] [C+C] Largish Character sprite

Reply #2 on: September 13, 2015, 01:58:04 pm
nether considered using wire-frame for pixel art. i usually draw at such a small scale that its not useful..

here's an attempt

I am not aiming for perfect human shape was trying to give the sprite a style .. particularly i like the legs comming to a point, a bit like the character from 'journey's does.
its a genericish sstanding side scroller pose

Edit:
cleaned up version