AuthorTopic: My first tries of a simple tree trunk  (Read 4120 times)

Offline flotschie

• View Profile

My first tries of a simple tree trunk

on: August 13, 2015, 10:01:36 pm
Hello Forum! My first post here, I am looking forward to your suggestions and hints! I am a absolute beginner in terms of creativity, drawing, and especially pixel art. I started drawing my first pixel images some weeks ago and rarely have time to practise. I am using Pyxel Edit.

However, today I started practicing drawing a simple tree trunk in low resolution (128x128). I want to show you the process with this 3 images, these are my first, second and third try. I like the third the most but I know there is a lot to improve:

First one is sh.., second one is completely ugly due to the colors but I like the texture/details (?)
The third one seems to go to the direction I want it to be.

So what do you guys think? Where should I start working / practicing?

Offline AlexHW

• View Profile
    • AlexHW

Re: My first tries of a simple tree trunk

Reply #1 on: August 14, 2015, 01:32:58 am
Maybe work on your shapes/forms a bit.
The impression I get from your trees are that the details are too uniform.
I did this example very quickly in about a minute focusing more on the shape/form rather than the details.

It has more striking structure to it compared to yours because the light side and dark side have more movement happening between each other. Yours feels too balanced/linear, not enough movement/body, etc..

Offline flotschie

• View Profile

Reply #2 on: August 14, 2015, 01:44:45 am
Yep.. I know exactly what you mean. It is strange, sometimes you simply does not see what is missing...and when another person tells you that, it suddenly becomes more clear :) Many thanks for your feedback, I will work on that and come up with a new version.

Offline flotschie

• View Profile

Reply #3 on: August 14, 2015, 07:58:30 pm