AuthorTopic: [C+C] Bear Pixel Character [edit: idle animation]  (Read 2707 times)

Offline XbearT

• View Profile

[C+C] Bear Pixel Character [edit: idle animation]

on: July 25, 2015, 07:50:55 pm
Hello! This is my first time posting. I would appreciate critique on this pixel bear character I've done, as:

Some issues I'm concerned about are:
- if the sprite is readable (specially at 100%/200%)
- the outline color ( I simply can't figure out a proper outline colour, a tutorial I read suggested dark-purplish, saturated colors)
- if there appears to be any problems with the anatomy
- The idea of using desaturated blue hues was to give the idea of a black bear (like Baloo from the disney movie)

Edit: Oh I forgot, the scarf is placed like that because I'll make an idle animation of this later on, so don't mind that for now.

Edit 2: Sorry about the image going missing, I deleted the old one but forgot to add the new one with the edits  (i.e fixed the anatomy and scarf), since they're technically small edits I'm not supposed to post again:

Anywayas, thanks to PypeBros for the input (can't believe I forgot to reference from a photo   :-[) I'm not really putting him on any background yet so if the outline is good as it is I won't change it.

Thanks in advance if you take the time to read and comment on this post.
« Last Edit: August 09, 2015, 12:05:09 am by XbearT »
I'm on DeviantArt as FTF9.

Offline PypeBros

• Pixel Padawan
    • PypeBros
    • View Profile
    • Bilou Homebrew's Blog.

Re: [C+C] Bear Pixel Character

Reply #1 on: July 26, 2015, 09:13:51 pm
He's a nice bear, I can read that. You've done a great job.

His "hands" might be missing, but I haven't checked reference bear picture lately.
I'm a bit unsure at the lighter shade under his scarf. If he's got a skin belly, maybe it'll work. If he's supposed to have a winnie-style belly, likely the part that would catch light would be lower.