AuthorTopic: [C+C] Title Screen Conundrums  (Read 10805 times)

Offline Zizka

• Keep on smilin'
    • View Profile

[C+C] Title Screen Conundrums

on: July 29, 2015, 07:45:35 pm
Hello guys!

I have no experience making title screens or compositions in general. On the other hand, I am under the impression that a title screen can make or break a game (to some extent).

So I need help with just about anything. Mostly composition from the pros, who can guide me in the right direction.

1st version:

2nd version:

3rd version:

Should I stick to one font or should I use many?

The idea is to have the main character sit on a top of ruined robots. He is blowing the smoke of his volt gun.

Am I along the right path here?

Offline Drazelic

• View Profile

Re: [C+C] Title Screen Conundrums

Reply #1 on: July 29, 2015, 08:14:07 pm
Your colors are all over the place. Like, it seems like every single robot has its own color palette, and the result is that the image feels more like a collage- or a deviantart-tier sprite comic- than a coherent singular screen. Heck, even your font is made of different configurations clashing with each other. Fire text, cookiedough text, metal text- pick something and stick to it, I'd say.

Work the title screen as a whole, I'd suggest. Rather than focusing on individual robots, layout the palette and shadows and highlights in big general blobs first, and definitely try to unite the palette a bit more.

Instead of thinking of the pile as a bunch of robots, think of it as one big macro-entity composed of robot-shaped granules? Treat it as a painting, rather than a collage.

Most of this advice is mindset-stuff rather than actual design tips, unfortunately, so I understand if you don't find it that helpful.

Offline Decroded

• Oh hai
    • View Profile

Reply #2 on: July 31, 2015, 10:47:11 pm
firstly what is the resolution of the game?
You've got 2 res here so not sure which is more appropriate.