AuthorTopic: [C+C] [WIP] Tank Boss  (Read 2997 times)

Offline WienerDog

• View Profile

[C+C] [WIP] Tank Boss

on: November 22, 2014, 05:22:37 am
Hello everyone!  So this is a final boss I will be featuring in a little game I've been working on as a side project.  It was done in Paint.NET, freehand.

Basically my question/concern is about the look and feel of the tank.  It seems very flat and bland.  Was wondering if anyone would have any tips? 

Specifically: 

- The chassis looks pretty boring and am wondering how to detail/spruce it up a little, maybe adding some paneling that looks like it sticks out at certain parts.
- The tank treads are a little flat, and I'm unsure of what to add to the non gear parts.  Maybe a little more darkened spaces?
- The arm looks a little out of place with the rest of the design...

Edits are accepted, and any tips would be appreciated!  Thanks in advance!

EDIT 11/23/14

@Seiseki: Thanks for the awesome edits and suggestions!  This is my first time trying shading and such on a piece and having such a excellent example really helps!

Here is what I have done recently after doing some homework and inspired by your edits:

I'm still working on it, hopefully learning something in the process.
« Last Edit: November 24, 2014, 04:21:46 am by WienerDog »

Offline Seiseki

• Starmancer
    • OminuxGames
    • http://pixeljoint.com/p/35207.htm
    • StarmancerGame
    • View Profile
    • Starmancer Patreon

Re: [C+C] Tank Boss

Reply #1 on: November 22, 2014, 07:16:50 am
I see four things you need to work on.

1. Clean up those lines.
2. Forget about lines, work on shading and getting depth and shapes right.
3. Adjust the color palette to be have more impact, be more restrictive and stick to only a few colors.
4. Forget about dithering for now.

Only add the detail once you have clear base shapes and shading.
If you want dithering add it after everything else.

Be prepared to put time into studying these things.

Here is a rough edit.