AuthorTopic: Sprites Preparation - HELP  (Read 3934 times)

Offline thoc

• View Profile

Sprites Preparation - HELP

on: September 07, 2014, 02:56:12 am
Hello everyone  ;D

So I am a newbie in pixel art and animation in general. I know this is probably a really dumb question but here we go ->

I've been doing some animations trying to improve and discover my style. But my question is more technical then the drawing itself..  How is the best way to "cut" the sprite and turning into a gif to test your animation? Like crop it each separate sprite and save it as a gif? Or just drag each sprite on top of each other then hide the other sprites and save it on by one? Or there is another easier way to do it? (sorry for my english)

Offline Probo

• View Profile

Re: Sprites Preparation - HELP

Reply #1 on: September 07, 2014, 03:59:09 am
Theres a program called Graphics Gale that makes animation really easy, its pretty cheap too.

http://www.humanbalance.net/gale/us/
« Last Edit: September 07, 2014, 04:03:48 am by Probo »

Offline Clandesdyne

• Remain calm. We have everything under control.
    • View Profile
    • Clandesdyne

Reply #2 on: September 08, 2014, 10:15:35 am
If you're using photoshop, you can make an animated gif, png sequence, or simply test the frame animation directly in the software.

Remain calm. We have everything under control.

Offline Mathias

• Goodbye.
    • http://pixeljoint.com/p/9542.htm
    • View Profile

Reply #3 on: September 08, 2014, 03:21:49 pm
I'm a Photoshop user. So, for something like this I might keep it as a "strip", like you have pictured in your post and simply move the strip by a set increment per frame. It's good practice to have your frames artwork always the same distance from each other.
This way, while editing, you don't even need to switch layers to edit your frames. I've assigned CTRL+> and CTRL+< to advance my timeline panel back and forth when desired. No need to click those stupid tiny buttons constantly.