AuthorTopic: [WIP] Help With Character Design  (Read 3343 times)

Offline Noxiousd

• View Profile

[WIP] Help With Character Design

on: August 10, 2014, 03:01:44 am
Hey, i've been creating pixel art a few weeks now (properly, anyway, had just messed around before now), and have undergone the task of creating some enemies for a game idea i'm currently working on.

These are extremely early, and i've not got a clue how to go about animating them just yet (tried a walk cycle, didn't end well)

My main issue i am having, is making the proportions look convincing, especially noticeable on the Wolf

Any tips would be awesome, i'm currently studying games design at Uni so looking to finish learning Unity and hopefully have something that resembles a game by the end of it.

Offline lachrymose

• View Profile

Re: [WIP] Help With Character Design

Reply #1 on: August 10, 2014, 03:24:32 am
Any tips would be awesome, i'm currently studying games design at Uni so looking to finish learning Unity and hopefully have something that resembles a game by the end of it.

I'm almost exactly in the same boat. Though, I'm working towards a Computer Science degree. I consider myself more of a programmer than a pixel artist. I came here to seek advice and to learn. It's been a great experience so far, so good luck with your game/sprites!

My take on your fat monster sprite:

Not sure what style you are going for, or if you blew up your sprites, but you can add a lot more detail into sprites that size. Mine is actually smaller.

If you did blow up your sprites than there is no need to with this site, simply clicking an image enlarges it.
« Last Edit: August 10, 2014, 05:16:18 am by lachrymose »

Offline Noxiousd

• View Profile

Reply #2 on: August 10, 2014, 10:56:10 am
its kinda the style i'm going for, 32x32 pixel, going for the "Gods Will Be Watching" style

i'm absolutely clueless with programming though :( , primarily do art

Offline Noxiousd

• View Profile