AuthorTopic: Blatant Harvest Moon Tileset Rip-off Mockup... Thing [WIP][C&C]  (Read 2909 times)

Offline Ambivorous

• If you can't do; inspire.
    • ambivorous
    • ambivorous
    • http://pixeljoint.com/p/47949.htm
    • ambivorous
    • View Profile
Hello again,

I'm needing some help with a tileset. I have put off making a tileset and mockup for quite some time because I know I am not very good at it. This is me forcing myself to do one.
I've always liked harvest moon from the SNES and it probably influences me more heavily than I realise.

Here it is:

I do not like my long grass, the chicken just seems to small no matter what I do and my short grass may as well be copy-pasted from some generic game.

Things I want opinions on:
Should I make the fences a single post rather and then simply join adjacent posts with planks?
Should I add some grass around the bottoms of the posts?
Will I get away with the stone as is, or should I make it appear to be slightly submerged in the ground?
Should I make 9 versions of the long grass so that there will always be edge pieces around with a darker outline or something similar?
For the short grass, should I stick with something like this, rather add a few patches of grass/ground, add flowers, other [specify]?
I should make some dirt tiles.

And of course please help me with anything that will help me unify the style of the entire piece.

Oh also, if you want me to add something to the mockup let me know and I'll try to pixel it (something that actually makes sense to be in it of course, like a farmer, or a pumpkin).
* may contain misinformation

Offline astraldata

• View Profile
    • MUGEN ZERO