AuthorTopic: New to Pixel Art (C & Edits welcome)  (Read 3671 times)

Offline gparali

• View Profile

New to Pixel Art (C & Edits welcome)

on: July 06, 2014, 06:04:14 am
Hello all!

First of all sorry if I missed any thread you have for the introduction of new users. If I did just point me to it and I will rectify the matter.

Now! Onto the pixel art.

I am kind of new at this, meaning I have just being trying for a week, most of it taken up by reading tutorials. I am at the point that I realy need some feedback to see what mistakes I am doing.
I particularly like edits so I can see what can be done to improve py pieces.

At this point I have only two (time is unfortunately limited) I would like some feedback on. They are very small as I like the style and, more importantly, I find it more approachable.

So keep the C+C coming!

Offline 32

• @AngusDoolan
    • http://pixeljoint.com/p/19827.htm
    • View Profile

Re: New to Pixel Art (C & Edits welcome)

Reply #1 on: July 07, 2014, 05:26:42 am
You're pretty much on the right track, everything is looking good. The animation is pretty nice, though I think the shoulders going up and down is a bit much. I made a quick edit to show a few things. The AA on the sword isn't working. You could definitely cut back on the colours and focus on nice clusters instead, I think that would suit the style better. His legs are also a little short but that's all up to your stylistic preferences. Consider working on a neutrally coloured background(I just use 50% grey), this is all fine if the piece only exists on pure white but any outer AA is going to fall apart on a background.

I'm having a hard time reading the second guy, is it meant to be like a bird/man hybrid? I'm sure that would come across better in motion but as a still at this size there's not much to say about it except try to use bigger clusters in your shading, don't have it hug the edges so much.

Not much else to say except keep drawing  :y:

Offline gparali