AuthorTopic: Some Help for a Noobie  (Read 4135 times)

Offline mobves1

• View Profile

Some Help for a Noobie

on: June 25, 2014, 09:29:44 pm
Hello! I am new on these forums. Also, I am new to everything and anything pixel art, beyond casually observing it.

My cousin and I want to make a game. Neither of us are particularly talented when it comes to art, but I have more artistic perseverance and motivation than him, so I am the designated artist. I watched and read a bunch of tutorials, downloaded some free software (GraphicsGale and PyxelEdit for sprites and titles, respectively), and tried to whip a few things up.

Part of the game involves bear people who walk around and say hello. This is what I made.

What can I do to try to make the limbs look less awkward? I freehanded the shape of the head and torso first and was fairly happy with it, then I added the rest of the body later.

Thanks for the help. Any and all suggestions for improvement are welcome!

Edit: I've been working on it a lot more. I added some clothes with the full knowledge that the attire will probably change before long. Any advice for improvements? I'm not entirely sure how to shade, I just made diagonal lines going down the left side. I think the belt adds depth, and I tried to make it so the arms and legs do as well, but I'm still not entirely happy with their shape.

Edit 2: I've slept on it and put some more time in. The shading is sorta better but I'm still not happy with it. Thoghts/criticisms?

« Last Edit: June 26, 2014, 04:05:52 pm by mobves1 »

Offline PsylentKnight

• View Profile

Re: Some Help for a Noobie

Reply #1 on: June 27, 2014, 01:48:13 am
Good start. I'm not the most qualified person, and my edit isn't great, but here you go. 

Here are some things that I fixed/would like to point out.

Color:
-Your shades are too close together. Use more contrast.
-Try to avoid pure black or pure white.