AuthorTopic: Offered Paid Job - Need advice!  (Read 2983 times)

Offline AzKai

• View Profile
    • My Artwork

Offered Paid Job - Need advice!

on: June 21, 2013, 03:52:17 am
Hi everyone!

Someone approached me today and asked if I would be interested in doing paid sprite work for them! :O Floored as I am, I really don't know where to start and there's a few things I need to find out.

• I have 2 years of personal experience, no "field" experience yet. I've never taken a real, paid gig. How much should I charge? Do I charge a flat rate or by the hour?
  • How do people expect things to be delievered!? If I am doing tiles... do real games use chipsets, or...? I've done stuff for myself but I don't know how to even start delivering tiles or sprites for games developed on the iOS or Android.
  • If the person asking to hire me isn't based in the US, will a contract still hold up? Do you usually ask for 30% or an amount up front? (I always do with my web work.) Does anyone have a template contract I could have or build off of?
  • Is there an easy way to tell if someone is trying to scam you? Does that usually happen a lot in the pixel art world?

This person wants me to get back to them so if anyone has any answers that would be greatly appreciated!

Offline r1k

• View Profile

Re: Offered Paid Job - Need advice!

Reply #1 on: June 21, 2013, 11:34:14 am
Im doing some work for a couple people right now and Ive found that they all want theyre stuff formatted differently.  So just ask them how that want theyre stuff arranged.  Some people are super specific about how they want it, others arent.
For payment probably best to discuss with the other person and come to an argreement on whether youre payed per asset, all at once, per hour or whatever.  But try to figure out what kind of rate you would be willing to accept first.