AuthorTopic: Special Moves Concept  (Read 5004 times)

Offline zulukee

• View Profile

Special Moves Concept

on: May 22, 2013, 06:11:43 pm
My first topic ;)

Offline zulukee

• View Profile

Re: Special Moves Concept

Reply #1 on: May 22, 2013, 06:14:58 pm
I did these for a webgame character design. this is my first time to do the pixel animation like this. pls help me with your critiques.  ;D

Offline tim

• Founder of Odd Tales - Art Director
    • View Profile
    • Tim Soret - Showreel

Reply #2 on: May 22, 2013, 11:34:46 pm
This is so good & so smooth I don't even know how to help you, and I think that's why you don't have too many answers.

Some transitions between two stances are really too fast to be understandable, but so far it seems you understand all the basic principles of animation. I love how you squash & stretch the sword in the last picture to simulate the motion blur. The way you animate hair & clothes is also very convincing. Good job. After seeing them a few more times, I might try to help you to find better transition between some stances, transitions that will help keeping momentum as you're breaking it too much in some animations.
Founder of Odd Tales
Art Director - Game Director - Game designer - Motion designer

Offline jams0988

• View Profile

Reply #3 on: May 22, 2013, 11:40:28 pm
Yeah, these are gorgeous. I love the little details you added with the clothes and hair. So smooth and convincing! For the first one, she spins around a bit too fast to end in that kind of pose, in my opinion. It feels like she should be falling over with that kind of momentum and that kind of off-balance stance at the end. I love the little *poof!* air animation at the end, though! I can feel her firing her projectile off already!

For the last animation, the way she twists to her left before coming back straight down doesn't feel as convincing to me as the other animations. It's a huge sword, but I don't feel like there's too much weight behind it.