AuthorTopic: Small iso dump, need input [wip]  (Read 3025 times)

Offline elderPixark

• View Profile

Small iso dump, need input [wip]

on: May 29, 2012, 02:28:50 pm
Hello forum!

This is not my first attempt at pixel-pushing as you might be able to tell, but I'm no expert, either. This is my first time doing isometric work, though. That's why I'm posting some of my work - I'd like some input on my work as I make progress. This is a small "dump" of everything I've made so far for this project.

Some goals I have for this are to improve my palette and develop my tile-making skills. Right now I'm at about 26 colors, and as I continue to make sprites and tiles, I want to develop my palette into a more limited color range.

Offline Grimsane

• View Profile

Re: Small iso dump, need input [wip]

Reply #1 on: May 29, 2012, 07:18:23 pm
i quite like this, the palette is actually pretty tight already  :y: and the tiles are decent, although here's my crit and really quick edit, the yellow highlight on the dirt tiles makes it clash with the rest of the scene, so I'd recommend using another tone from your existing palette like this to diffuse it a bit, and also there was a dark pixel that also made the tile effect stand out more so removed that too, and the bald elderly guy looked slightly different to the others, due to lack of emphasis on their cube-e-ness which is reinforced with the others due to their hairline, so that kind of highlight would be my recommended fix.

digging it though, and those runes are rather cool too :y:

Offline elderPixark

• View Profile

Reply #2 on: May 31, 2012, 11:31:01 am
Thanks for the suggestions. I removed the pixel from the dirt tile and that helped quite a bit. I still notice the grid but it's not much of a problem now. I tried using different color combos on the dirt and cannot decide which is best! I also noticed you removed the boss on the spearman's shield, so I'm not sure if it's all that readable.