AuthorTopic: I need some critique and advice for my new album cover  (Read 3607 times)

Offline teoacosta

• View Profile
Hey Way of the Pixel,

You may or may not know me, but I'm the artist "Abducted By Sharks" and I'm working on my new album cover and I was hoping I could get some brutally honest feedback. I'm fairly new to pixel art, but I want to get it right.

So be brutal :D

Offline Corinthian Baby

• Meditating Pixel Placement
    • View Profile

Re: I need some critique and advice for my new album cover

Reply #1 on: March 27, 2012, 06:11:11 pm
Thought this was missing some context, then I checked out your site, and this seems pretty rad.

But in terms of traditional pixel art there's some major issues. The mixed resolution can be jarring, ideally everything would be hand pixeled in the same res, for the sake of consistency.

Secondly, the gradient overlays and laser beam effects are considered not pixel art, for the same reason as above, but I understand its application in this collage type context. It depends what you're going for, true pixel art, or a hodge podge of resolutions/materials that imitates pixel art but isn't true to its core forms.

As for the shark himself, you have some strange pixel clusters and a lot of jaggies, not to mention inconsistent AA. I like the colors but your application of some of them, like the transitional grey between blue and light blue, is not used enough, or should be omitted completely. Also I really like the concept of a hammerhead floating threw space with laser beam eyes, so do it justice! Read up on some pixel tuts or get familiar with the lingo, hope this helps.

Offline yrizoud

• View Profile

Reply #2 on: March 27, 2012, 09:52:14 pm
The starfield is very grainy like a badly numerized VHS; maybe the print will hide some defects (flat stars!) but I wouldn't rely on it. I'm pretty sure a photographic-quality starfield is a better background for low-res pixel hammerhead shark.