AuthorTopic: [WIP] Hunter run animation C&C  (Read 3264 times)

Offline Durandal

• View Profile

[WIP] Hunter run animation C&C

on: April 28, 2011, 11:00:22 am
Hi!

I've been kicking around a concept for a run'n'gun/platformer for a while now, something along the lines of "Metal Gear meets Abuse". However, while I've got plenty of coding experience, and even a little pixel experience, I've never tried doing a full motion character animation before. I decided it was time to fix that  :)

I originally sketched thumbnails from looking at SFA3 Sakura sprites to get an idea of what I was doing. The whole thing is extremely rough around the edges, and there's a bunch of stuff that obviously needs fixing; the near arm varies wildly in thickness, the butt of the rifle just can't decide what shape it's supposed to be, and various bits that should be animated are either static of barely moving  ::)

General C&C totally welcome, but the main reason I'm posting this in its current state is for advice on the rifle. It currently passes through five unique angles in six frames (frames 1 and 5 share). At the time I felt like it was necessary to achieve a smooth motion, given how far it swings, but at the same time, it meant I had to abandon 'nice' angles and just throw down pixels to make the best straight lines I could. Any thoughts on this trade-off between smooth motion and smooth lines?

Update:

-Reduced far arm swing range a little, probably still needs some more, possibly some off the back-swing too.
-Various fixes to coat movement
-Vastly improved consistency on near arm
-Made a start on rifle shape consistency
-Removed hunchback

Torso is still twisted away slightly...I've been too chicken to do the major edit required to fix that  :-\
« Last Edit: April 29, 2011, 01:50:15 pm by Durandal »

Offline pistachio

• Mostly lurking
    • http://pixeljoint.com/p/125138.htm
    • View Profile

Re: [WIP] Hunter run animation C&C

Reply #1 on: April 28, 2011, 02:09:34 pm