AuthorTopic: [WIP]Novice, working on smileys for another board C+C welcome  (Read 6892 times)

Offline Dessa

• View Profile
Hi!  I started doing pixel art when I was 12 or so years old back in 1993 or so (always 2 colors), but it's been a long time since I've done any serious work.  I started posting at another board that has just plain awful smileys, and thought "I can do better!"  I'm just rediscovering how fun pixel art can be (and how frustrating!).  I'm a much better artist when I'm given limitations, so pixel art is up my alley.

The board in question is based around the latest My Little Pony series (which I never expected to be actually good), so the smileys are all ponies based around that show's designs (although I designed this character in particular).  Some of these are translations of much larger images, and some are faces I've come up with:

Current

Well previous

I'm happy with a few of these, and a couple need a lot of work, or perhaps complete redos.  In particular, winking (5th on the top), anger and fustration/irritation (bottom row) need some more love.  I've been tweaking and retweaking those endlessly and I'm never quite satisfied.

At this point, I'm just looking for general opinions and advice.
I basically stole the palette from the cartoon itself, using the eyedropper tool, and tweaked for more contrast to make the images more readable.

The sizing is a bit arbitrary, 23px tall, with unlimited width, which was an attempt to maintain enough room to convey expression without stretching a line of text too much vertically.

Are these readable?  I don't have much experience with antialiasing; would these images benefit greatly from it?  

Edit:  A reference image from the show, so you know the basic look I'm going for here:

« Last Edit: April 29, 2011, 03:05:47 am by Dessa »

Offline pistachio

• Mostly lurking
    • http://pixeljoint.com/p/125138.htm
    • View Profile