AuthorTopic: [WIP] Boss Monsters  (Read 6759 times)

Offline Lazy Brain Games

• View Profile
    • Lazy Brain Games

[WIP] Boss Monsters

on: February 12, 2011, 01:25:23 am
I'm near completing 2 of the 3 bosses for an upcoming game, so thought I'd post them up for some critique :) I'm still learning, but I like to think this is an improvement over my previous games. At this point, I'm stuck with the palette I've chosen, which is this...

I'm hoping this palette won't hurt anyone's eyes too much!

Here's the straight image of one of the bosses, the classic eyeball boss...

And here he is in the game (obviously there's some issues with the HUD :P)

This one still has a couple of problem areas, but I'm interested in any glaring issues you might be able to find ;)

This other one, I'm not quite sure what it's supposed to be yet lol.I'm just calling him "Boss 1" at this point :P

Boss 1 in-game...

Love it? Hate it? Let me know! :D I'd like to get a feel for how close these are to done before I start on the final boss.

-Johnny B.

Offline ptoing

• variegated quadrangle arranger
    • the_ptoing
    • http://pixeljoint.com/p/2191.htm
    • View Profile
    • Perpetually inactive website

Re: [WIP] Boss Monsters

Reply #1 on: February 12, 2011, 02:08:58 am
I like how it looks, very reminiscent of old arcade games and stuff like mega drive/pc engine and such.

The biggest problem IMO is your palette. It is very unoptimised.
Do you need 3 colours which are almost black? Do you need that really dark green? Do you need that eggshell colour which is very close to the yellow actually? Do the darker red and the lighter blue need to be so saturated? Why only one grey?

Greys are awesome as buffer shades and you could probably use 3 or so greys, or at least 2. And I would make one of those near black colours full black.

I would say try and tweak the palette some more before doing more art and then refit the done art to the new palette.