AuthorTopic: anatomy practice  (Read 3362 times)

Offline Demon11777

• View Profile

anatomy practice

on: August 15, 2010, 09:06:14 pm
I wanted to try and make a simple human male and shade it smoothly with correct muscle structure, I think it came out ok. Anything that should have been done better? C+C Please and thanks 

Uploaded with ImageShack.us   
Row Row Fight The Powah!

Offline Kaito

• View Profile

Re: anatomy practice

Reply #1 on: August 15, 2010, 09:19:31 pm
im not a pixel artist yet but the legs looks too short..

Offline NaCl

• When it rains it pours
    • View Profile

Reply #2 on: August 15, 2010, 09:35:06 pm
Nice work on the torso and arms, the shapes there are quite good. I suggest redrawing the legs from scratch though, they look withered and mutated. Look at more reference material for that, perhaps even yourself in the mirror.

Also, you are pillow shading really badly. I hardly know where to start with advice on fixing this, but you need to think of the shape of the entire object, not just shade one ab, then another ab, then a bicep, then a pec. They are all part of one overall shape and light is not going to behave by highlighting the middle of every muscle and shading the outside rim. The light catches edges facing towards it, and is less present on surfaces facing away or surfaces shielded by other surfaces. I see a bit of understanding of this on certain parts, but you need to apply it thoroughly and completely for any effect.

Look into head anatomy as well, for proportions and shape. The eyes go half way between the top of the skull and the bottom of the chin for instance.

Offline Demon11777

• View Profile

Reply #3 on: August 15, 2010, 11:51:15 pm
Thanks for your reply/ advice. Im going to try and shade more accordingly to a light source in the upper left, and of course see what i can do about the legs.   

Thanks guys   :P
Row Row Fight The Powah!

Offline EyeCraft

• What are you scared of?
    • View Profile
    • Death By Dev