AuthorTopic: [WIP] NEW sprite (base + clothing)  (Read 7017 times)

Offline Tenjou

• View Profile

[WIP] NEW sprite (base + clothing)

on: July 04, 2010, 07:21:11 pm
Hello,

I'm editing the post I originally made as I do not feel it appropriate to start a new thread.  I am a programmer who is new to pixel art, with a particular interest in spriting.  To that end, I purchased a wooden artist's model (link below), and began to experiment.  At first I looked at Super Nintendo generation games but nothing was working out.  Finally, I did some more research online as well as looked to games such as Diablo II (PC) for inspiration.  The results are great, and I am pleased to offer it for C+C here.

Here is the mentioned artist's model: http://gifts.barnesandnoble.com/search/product.asp?r=1&ourl=Home-gift%2F12-Wooden-Artists-Model&EAN=9780641697609&cm_mmc=Google%20Product%20Search-_-Q000000630-_-Home%20gift-_-9780641697609

I realize this is vastly different from my original post, however this style is working out much better for me so I wish to pursue it.  Thank you again for any advice you can offer, and please forgive me if this somewhat overlaps with my other post in this thread.
« Last Edit: July 07, 2010, 08:49:35 pm by Tenjou »

Offline Kaito

• View Profile

Re: [WIP] human sprite -- doll base

Reply #1 on: July 07, 2010, 08:10:50 pm
im not a good pixel artist, but i can say something..
the head is too small
you need to add shadows
need more details...
is my opinion

i edit your base and i make this..

« Last Edit: July 07, 2010, 08:23:38 pm by Kaito »

Offline Tenjou

• View Profile

Re: [WIP] human sprite -- doll base

Reply #2 on: July 07, 2010, 08:44:08 pm
Thanks friend.  I actually decided to completely restart from scratch.  I found a great website with tips (http://www.wayuki.nl/tut-base.php).  With that, and also looking to games such as Diablo II, I realized a few things which made me want to start from scratch.