AuthorTopic: [WIP] 2-Color Terrain  (Read 3606 times)

Offline hangar

• View Profile

[WIP] 2-Color Terrain

on: June 09, 2010, 06:36:06 am

This is my first attempt at doing my own graphics and I'm no great artist, so I'm trying to keep it simple. Black and white, no ramps and put together procedurally. What you're looking at is a sort of natural "grass" terrain, along with a "ruined building" terrain that I just can't get to work right.

So what I'm asking is:

1) How can I improve the grass terrain?

2) How can I use two colors and square edges to create the impression of a ruined building?

Offline EyeCraft

• What are you scared of?
    • View Profile
    • Death By Dev

Re: [WIP] 2-Color Terrain

Reply #1 on: June 09, 2010, 11:17:43 am
Hello hangar and welcome to Pixelation!

Your greatest tool for this kind of work is the usage of silhouettes. They are tremendously powerful at conveying information. Here's a quick example:

(Ignore my playing around with trees in the background)

Notice the foreground immediately stands out as rocky outcrop with grass strewn about... at least I hope it does ;)

This can be applied to great effect on something like a ruined building, too. Find some reference photos of buildings under construction, or in the process of decay, and note the kinds of silhouettes they make... I imagine lots of support poles and wires jutting out will be a big one, as well as chunks missing and piles of rubble heaped up at areas around the base.
« Last Edit: June 09, 2010, 11:19:19 am by EyeCraft »

Offline hangar

• View Profile

Reply #2 on: June 09, 2010, 03:18:40 pm
Wow, that's fairly amazing. But something I've struggled with is having clearly-defined tile borders so the player knows where the boundary is. How many pixels can I cheat on each side of the boundary while still retaining that hard border? Here's the player character for size reference. (Edit: forgot my program upscales; see the bottom image to compare to this one.)